物联网:将潜力转化为真正的商业价值


物联网 (IoT) 为创造新的经济和商业价值开辟了一个充满可能性的世界。不过,各行各业的企业对物联网的投资也需要采用新的信息架构、应用开发和数据科学方法。为您的企业提供物联网功能,帮助您创建极富吸引力的新产品和服务,同时提高内部效率。
分享

什么是物联网?

物联网是指越来越多的物理对象,从小型消费设备到大规模工业设备,连接到互联网,并能够生成有关其运行和周围环境的数据。构成物联网的设备数量正在呈爆炸式增长,如今连接到互联网的设备几乎和地球上的人一样多。据 Gartner 估计,截至 2016 年,全球投入使用的联网设备已超过 60 亿台,预计到 2020 年该数字将超过 200 亿台。

由于许多融合技术的不断发展,物联网已成为可能。这些技术发展包括:可以应用于物理对象的微小但强大的数据创建传感器的演变,能将设备相互连接的无处不在的高速互联网,用于解读物联网数据的大数据计算能力和数据科学,用于触发物理实际对象行动的事件驱动型架构,以及用于控制和监控联网设备的移动设备。


“到 2025 年,通过使用物联网可以创造 4 到 11 万亿美元的经济价值。”

Michael Chui
麦肯锡合作伙伴



为什么物联网如此重要

物联网 (IoT) 为创造新的经济和商业价值开辟了一个充满可能性的世界。不过,各行各业的企业对物联网的投资也需要采用新的信息架构、应用开发和数据科学方法。为您的企业提供物联网功能,帮助您创建极富吸引力的新产品和服务,同时提高内部效率。

创建新服务并将其交付给客户

现在,连接到互联网的物理消者产品和设备允许企业创建和提供基于软件的增值服务,从而提高客户忠诚度,实现交叉销售和追加销售机会,并减少客户流失。

提高运营效率,减少设备停机时间

从工业设备和其他机器流出的数据使运营人员能够更轻松地监控和管理其运营,甚至可以提前预测设备故障,以便采取预防措施。

实时智能自动化运营

最终,物联网和事件驱动型架构可让企业将机器学习和预测分析应用到传入数据,并在无需人为干预的情况下触发下一个最佳操作,从而以智能方式自动执行业务流程和联网设备的实时运营。



主要区别:物联网与传统的系统数据和架构
物联网数据和架构
传统的系统数据和架构
物联网数据是分布式的 在任何给定的物联网场景中,数据都分布在设备间,有时是成千上万的设备,这些设备通常分散在不同的地理位置。计算和处理能力必定经常发生在网络边缘。 集中创建和存储应用数据 每个应用和系统都会创建和存储自己的数据。然后,来自不同应用的数据会进行聚合,并物理移动到中央位置进行分析。
物联网数据量呈指数增长 物联网场景中的数据量开始时可能会很小,但随着设备每天 24 小时不间断地创建数据,不需要很长时间,物联网数据量就会变得非常庞大。这需要一个能够随物联网数据量进行扩展的数据管理和分析体系。 传统的应用数据增长呈线性 与传统企业应用相关的大多数数据都由人工创建。这意味着传统的应用数据量虽然在增加,但还是没有达到近似机器生成数据的速度。传统的存储和分析技术就足够了。
需要对物联网数据进行实时和预测分析 为了向客户提供个性化服务,并调整设备运行以最大限度地提高效率,物联网数据必须在创建时进行分析,并能够触发相应的操作。 后视镜分析和报告阻碍了团队积极主动的能力 传统的应用和系统通常是一体化的,包含捕获数据的组件网络,但难以实时确定和解决问题。数据创建很久后才能执行分析,所提供的大多是事件和运营的落后视图。
物联网需要事件驱动型架构 事件驱动型架构利用微服务,并允许应用在发生状态变化时通知彼此,并触发相应的操作。 传统架构被动传统的应用架构是一体化的,并且不支持实时事件通知。
物联网使用会发生变化 所有物联网场景中唯一持续发生的事情就是变化。数据科学家和应用开发人员一直在寻找新的创新物联网使用情形,这意味着他们需要使用敏捷方法不断调整现有应用并构建新的应用。 应用使用相对静态 传统的企业应用使用瀑布式方法开发,以满足现有的需求。团队很少对应用进行更新或更改来满足不断变化的业务需求,而新的应用需要数月甚至数年时间才能开发并部署到生产中。


正在考虑使用物联网?需要注意的事项

虽然物联网具有让企业开发新的业务模式和收入机会的潜力,但并非所有企业都已准备好应对利用物联网时所面临的挑战。创建、使用、处理和分析物联网数据以及实际运用重要信息,都需要投资新技术和相关的基础架构,并重新思考业务模式。


您准备好对传感器技术进行前期投资了吗?

在使用物联网之前开发的设备,需要配备数据生成传感器。要为一系列对象配备传感器,所需的成本和工作量不容小觑。

您的基础架构可以处理爆炸式增长的数据量吗?

物联网设备会创建数据,并且数据量很大。要从存储和处理到分析和数据科学方面对其加以利用,需要构建高度可扩展的弹性基础架构并投资新的数据技术。

您能为事件驱动型架构提供支持吗?

您的基础架构不仅必须具有可扩展性和弹性,还必须属于事件驱动型,才能根据实时物联网数据分析执行自动化操作。与物联网相关的重要信息确实不错,但在事件发生时,您的基础架构必须能够提供支持来对这些重要信息采取行动,从而创造价值。

您的物联网安全战略是什么?

在采用物联网之前,企业必须考虑数据安全的意义并做好相应的准备。根据定义,物联网数据会连接到互联网,因此容易受到黑客入侵,并且要接受监管。如果您不知道如何保护物联网数据的安全,请停下手中的计划。

您准备好尝试新的业务模式了吗?

虽然物联网可以强化现有的使用情形,但其最大的价值在于能够实现潜在的新业务模式。企业必须做好准备尝试新的业务模式,并随着时间的推移进行迭代。




下一部分
观点

IoT: Turn Potential into Real Business Value


IoT, or the Internet of Things, opens up a world of possibilities for new economic and business value creation. Yet investment by enterprises across industries in IoT also demands the adoption of new approaches to information architecture, application development, and data science.
Share

What is IoT?

IoT refers to the ever-increasing number of physical objects—from small consumer devices to massive industrial equipment—that are now connected to the Internet and are capable of generating data about their operations and the world around them. The number of devices that make up IoT is exploding, with nearly as many devices connected to the Internet today as there are people on the planet. Gartner estimates connected devices in use worldwide will top 20 billion by 2020.

IoT is possible because of a number of converging technology developments. These include the evolution of tiny but powerful data-creating sensors that can be applied to physical objects; near ubiquitous high-speed Internet access to connect devices to the cloud and each other; big data computing power and data science to make sense of IoT data; event-driven architectures to trigger actions in physical, real-world objects; and mobile devices to control and monitor connected devices.


“By the year 2025, $4 to $11 trillion of economic value could be created through the use of the Internet of Things.“

Michael Chui
Partner, McKinsey & Company



Why IoT Matters

IoT investment requires new approaches to information architecture, application development, and data science. Empower your organization with IoT capabilities that help create new, compelling products and services while improving internal efficiencies.

Create and deliver new services to customers

Physical consumer products and devices now connected to the Internet allow enterprises to create and deliver value-add, software-based services that increase customer loyalty, enable cross-sell and upsell opportunities, and reduce customer churn.

Improve operational efficiency and reduce equipment downtime

Data flowing from industrial equipment and other machines enables operators to more easily monitor and manage their operations and even predict equipment failures before they occur so preventative action can be taken.

Intelligently automate operations in real time

Ultimately, IoT and event-driven architectures let enterprises intelligently automate business processes and the operations of connected devices in real time by applying machine learning and predictive analytics to incoming data and triggering next-best actions with no human intervention required.



The Big Differences: IoT Versus Traditional System Data and Architecture
IoT Data and Architecture
Traditional System Data and Architecture
IoT data is distributed. In any given IoT scenario, data is distributed among devices, sometimes thousands of devices, that are often geographically dispersed. Compute and processing power must often take place on network edges. Application data is created and stored centrally. Each application and system creates and stores its own data. Data from disparate applications is then aggregated and physically moved to a central location, such as an enterprise data warehouse, for analysis.
IoT data volume is increasing exponentially. The volume of data in IoT scenarios might start small, but with devices creating data non-stop, 24 hours a day, it doesn’t take long before IoT data volumes become truly massive. This requires a data management and analytics stack that scales to IoT data volumes. Traditional application data growth is linear. Most of the data associated with traditional enterprise applications is created manually. This means the volume of traditional applications data, while growing, is not growing at nearly the pace of machine-generated data. Traditional storage and analytics technologies suffice.
Real-time and predictive analytics are required on IoT data. In order to deliver personalized services to customers and adapt equipment operations to maximize efficiencies, IoT data must be analyzed as it is created and be able to trigger corresponding actions. Rear-view mirror analytics and reporting hinder teams’ ability to be proactive. Traditional applications and systems are often monolithic, containing a web of components that capture data but make it difficult to find and troubleshoot issues in real time. Analytics takes place well after data is created and provides largely backwards-looking views of events and operations.
IoT requires event-driven architecture. An event-driven architecture takes advantage of microservices and allows applications to notify each other of changes in state as they occur and trigger corresponding actions. Traditional architecture is passive. Traditional application architectures are monolithic and don’t support real-time event notification.
IoT usage will change. The one constant in any IoT scenario is change. Data scientists and application developers are always looking for new and innovative IoT use cases, which means they need to continuously adapt existing applications and build new applications using Agile methodologies. Application use is fairly static. Traditional enterprise applications are developed using a waterfall approach to meet existing needs. Applications are rarely updated or changed to meet changing business demands, and new applications take months, sometimes years, to develop and deploy to production.


Considering IoT? What to Keep in Mind

While IoT has potential for enterprises to develop new business models and revenue opportunities, not all enterprises are prepared for the challenges associated with harnessing IoT. Creating, consuming, processing, and analyzing IoT data and operationalizing insights requires making investments in new technologies and related infrastructure, as well as rethinking business models.


Are you prepared for the upfront investment in sensor technology?

Existing devices and equipment (those developed pre-IoT) need to be outfitted with data-generating sensors. The cost and effort required to outfit fleets of objects with sensors is not trivial.

Can your infrastructure handle exploding data volumes?

IoT devices create data—a lot of data. Harnessing it, from storage and processing to analytics and data science, requires a highly scalable, elastic infrastructure and investment in new data technologies.

Can you support an event-driven architecture?

Your infrastructure must not only be scalable and elastic, it must also be event-driven to execute automated actions based on real-time IoT data analysis. IoT-related insights are great, but your infrastructure must support acting on those insights as events occur to create value.

What is your IoT security strategy?

Before embarking on IoT, enterprises must consider and prepare for the data security implications. By definition, IoT data is connected to the Internet, making it susceptible to hackers and subject to regulation, depending on industry. If you don’t know how you will secure IoT data, stop and develop a plan.

Are you prepared to experiment with new business models?

While IoT can enhance existing use cases, its greatest value lies in enabling potential new business models. Enterprises must be prepared to experiment with (and sometimes fail with) new business models and iterate over time.




Next
Perspectives