技术见解

物联网:将潜力转化为真正的商业价值


物联网 (IoT) 为创造新的经济和商业价值开辟了一个充满可能性的世界。不过,各行各业的企业对物联网的投资也需要采用新的信息架构、应用开发和数据科学方法。为您的企业提供物联网功能,帮助您创建极富吸引力的新产品和服务,同时提高内部效率。

观点


IoT出现的必然性
来自产品营销总监Jürgen Leschner的Pivotal观点

IoT可能只是昙花一现吗?

现实是IoT在加速增长。根据爱立信的预测,汽车和机器将很快超过移动电话,成为最大的互联设备类型。这种增长的推动因素是什么?

摩尔定律正逐渐降低硬件的价格,只要数量达到足够的规模,将传感器和处理系统嵌入日常设备(大型和小型设备)的成本将会变得非常低。

我认为,IoT的网络效应会让我们在当今智能手机和社交网络时代看到的转型黯然失色。

通过计算互联设备之间可能的连接数量,梅特卡夫定律预测,网络的价值将以互联设备总数平方的数量增加。

里德定律进一步称,如果不仅计算可能的连接数量,还加上网络成员可能形成的群体,网络价值将呈指数级增长。指数级增长意味着其爆发效应可能让您感到吃惊(例如,如果池塘中的百合花数量呈指数级增加,池塘会在很长时间内看起来很正常,然后某一天百合花突然覆盖了半个池塘,第二天就完全覆盖了整个池塘)。

如果想一想人们同时属于许多群体的情况,比如同时属于他们的家庭、公司、所有社交媒体群组等,那么里德定律就说得通了。

当然,IoT设备不会与网络上的每个设备通信,就像人们并不认识所有人一样。但如果想一想机器学习的数据处理速度最近提高了多少,就会知道互联设备和它们生成的数据将为更多应用的问世提供支持。在里德定律的意义上讲,每个IoT应用都是一个群体。

这种增长或IoT将为打造令人惊叹的新服务和应用提供可能。一类应用是医疗保健。设备配备用于监测人体的传感器后,不仅可以提高医院的安全性,而且如果将它们加入日常服装中,还能针对致命疾病及早发出警告

某个人穿戴的设备或某辆车上安装的设备本身会形成小型网络。边缘计算机可以在本地处理来自这些设备的信息,尽可能实时做出反应,并为自动驾驶汽车等新型机器辅助活动提供支持。

从网络效应这个角度来看IoT是展望未来的一种方法。希望这会让我们变得更加明智,这不仅包括好的一面,还包括未来面临的一些风险和变化。



观点

联系我们

IoT: Turn Potential into Real Business Value


IoT, or the Internet of Things, opens up a world of possibilities for new economic and business value creation. Yet investment by enterprises across industries in IoT also demands the adoption of new approaches to information architecture, application development, and data science.

Perspectives


The Inevitable Rise of IoT
A Pivotal Perspective by Jürgen Leschner, Director of Product Marketing

Could it be possible that IoT is just another passing fad?

The reality is that the growth of IoT is accelerating. Cars and machines will soon surpass mobile phones as the largest category of connected devices, according to Ericsson. What is enabling this growth?

Moore's law is driving down hardware prices to the point where it costs pennies to embed sensors and processing into everyday devices, big and small, once volumes reach a sufficient scale.

I believe that the network effects of IoT will eclipse the transformations we are seeing in today's era of smartphones and social networks.

By counting the number of possible connections between connected devices, Metcalf's law predicts that the value of a network increases by the square of the total number of connected devices.

Reed's law goes even further, arguing that the value of a network grows exponentially if you count not just the number of possible connections, but also include the possible groups which can be formed amongst members of the network. The thing about exponential growth is that it can surprise you with overwhelming effects (e.g. a pond with lilies growing exponentially will look normal for a long time, half covered one day, and completely covered the next.)

Reed's law makes sense if you consider how people can belong to lots of groups at the same time, such as their families, their companies, all their social media groups and so on.

Of course IoT devices won't all talk to every other device on the Internet, just like people don't all know everyone else. But if you think about how quickly data processing for machine learning has grown recently, it's not hard to imagine that connected devices and the data that they generate will enable ever larger numbers of applications. Every IoT application is a group in the sense of Reed's law.

The growth or IoT will open up possibilities for amazing new services and applications. One category of applications is healthcare. Devices with sensors for monitoring our bodies will not only make hospitals safer, but when we weave them into our everyday clothing, they can provide early warnings of life threatening illnesses.

Devices worn by a single person or installed in a single car form small networks themselves. Edge computers can process the information from those devices locally, making real-time reactions possible, and enabling new kinds of machine-assisted activities such as self-driving vehicles.

Looking at IoT through this perspective of network effects is one way to glimpse the future. Hopefully, this will make us a little bit smarter, not just about the bright side, but also about some of the risks and changes that lie ahead.



Perspectives