敢做“第一个吃螃蟹的人”


福特如何转型成为移动出行公司

Simon Sinek有句名言:“要了解一家公司的内在驱动力,‘知其然’比‘知其所以然’更重要”。我们知道福特制造汽车和卡车,但是如果您理解为什么福特要制造汽车和卡车,那么您就不算真的了解福特。知道“为什么”是可以帮助人们更快、更轻松地实现目标。本质上,福特是一家移动出行公司。

随着改变人类出行方式的新技术的出现,福特也在转型。福特依旧是一家制造汽车和卡车的移动出行公司,但是,公司决定拥抱新的软件开发方式、使用数字化技术来为服务客户,福特正在开发创新方法来实现其使命。

“移动出行技术的整场革命所蕴含的各种可能性让我感到非常兴奋。”福特IT首席运营官Jeff Lemmer说,“IT如何发挥作用,真正帮助公司转型,也是激动人心。IT部门不再是幕后工作者了,现在IT部门是帮助公司取得成功并真正帮助客户一路向前的先驱与顶梁柱。”

“IT部门现在不是幕后工作者,而是走在前面成为核心的一个部门,IT正在帮助公司转型。”
福特汽车公司IT首席运营官Jeff Lemmer
团队工作必不可少

新兴技术已经在影响汽车行业,其中之一就是物联网(IoT),而福特正在引领潮流。福特在联网汽车计划方面大力投资,其远大目标是在2019年之前把所有从流水线上下来的90%的车辆实现联网,在美国生产的车辆则达到100%实现联网。

作为新兴的技术领域,联网汽车的新使用场景一直在开发之中。福特认识到自己需要采用新的软件构建方法,从而迅速尝试新的IoT构想、将这些构想快速推向市场,并根据用户反馈进行迭代。

“我们所看到的变革速度前所未有。”Lemmer说,“我们目前开发的解决方案类型与五年或十年前大不相同,所以我们必须从技术和文化的角度完成团队的内部转型。”

这意味着,软件开发项目持续数月甚至数年以及需要多个孤立团队多次交接的旧时代即将落幕。取而代之的是,Lemmer会将IT部门重组成由开发人员和工程师组成的多个小型自主团队,每个团队都关注并负责特定软件产品从开发和测试到生产和运维的过程。

这些团队采用以客户为中心的理念,在持续的用户和客户反馈的基础上,迭代小批量开发软件。






FordPass和Pivotal Cloud Foundry

FordPass是从新方法中诞生的首批软件产品之一。借助该移动应用,用户可以与其联网车辆交互,并执行查看诊断数据、远程锁定/解锁和启动车辆等任务。用户甚至不必拥有福特车辆,就可以预留停车位,查找并比较相应区域内的油价。

过去,福特开发人员需要数月才能把FordPass这样的应用推向市场(如果它曾尝试过这样的壮举的话)。借助新的软件开发方法,在Pivotal Labs的帮助之下,福特以突破公司纪录的速度将FordPass推向市场,并且开发人员正不断测试新构想并获取用户反馈。Pivotal Labs与福特开发人员并肩工作,帮助他们了解敏捷租户和其他重要流程,比如持续集成/持续交付。

“随着时间的推移,最终,Pivotal帮助福特IT部门学会了这些技能、并不断地添加更多特性和功能,缩短向客户发布FordPass的周期。”福特IT总监Aaron Rajda说,“FordPass团队现在定期发布常规更新。几乎每个月都有更新,而过去一年只有一两次。我们见证了这个频繁提供价值的构想。现在,我们看到了定期发布的构想,团队在发布软件方面做得很出色。”









与Pivotal合作非常成功,于是福特根据Pivotal Labs的方法打造了自己的开发团队和支持环境。他们甚至将该团队称为“FordLabs”。“我们开始让福特IT部门将Pivotal Labs方法用到现代软件开发实践、团队、技能和方法中。我们现在需要依靠成功的合作,继续为客户构建出色的软件,”Rajda说。这种敏捷方法背后的支持来源于Pivotal Cloud Foundry。

Pivotal Cloud Foundry的另一个重要优势是云可移植性。该平台基于所有主要公有云提供商以及VMware运行,这意味着运维团队只需更改少量代码或完全不更改代码,即可在各个环境之间迁移它及相关应用。这种灵活性使企业能够利用各个云提供商提供的不同强大套件,并降低“受限于云”的风险。

“在过去几年中,我们将越来越多的应用迁移到了云。”Lemmer说,“在帮助我们在本地和远程环境运行应用,以及跨不同环境无缝迁移方面,Pivotal和整个Pivotal产品体系都发挥了关键的作用。”

我们需要创造这种学习文化,并见证这种文化在整个公司中不断发展壮大,我们会为之树立榜样。而Pivotal是我们学习流程中的一个重要部分。”
福特汽车公司IT总监Aaron Rajda

驶向未来

当然,成功都伴随着挑战。采用新的软件构建方法需要开发人员和运维人员对一些长期存在的假设提出质疑,这在任何学科中都是不容易的。Lemmer表示,让Pivotal在场指导团队至关重要。

“团队遇到的一个挑战是摒弃传统的开发实践。”Lemmer说,“Pivotal团队真的帮助我们形成了持续开发的理念。您可能会部署有问题的软件,这没关系,因为您实际上能够通过修改变更进行迭代,迅速解决这些问题。当团队真正理解了Pivotal方法的强大之后,他们会积极投入其中。”

Rajda补充道:“我们目前构建软件的方式与以往大不相同。如今,我们使用快速的‘构建-度量-学习’周期尝试了我们的软件开发方法,这是Pivotal Labs工作方式的一个特征。”

福特正在将此方法扩展到公司的开发及更多团队,Rajda如是说。Pivotal Labs发挥了重要的作用。






“多年来,福特一直都会举办“午餐与学习”活动。但第一次,我看到Pivotal在那里与我们的Ford Labs团队讨论一个关于深度学习的话题。”Rajda说,“那并不只是团队在查看一堆PowerPoint幻灯片。这是一次吸引人的学习会,包含出色的对话和问题,也营造了一次出色的教学体验。”

“我们需要创造这种学习文化,并见证这种文化在整个公司中不断发展壮大,我们会为之树立榜样。而Pivotal是我们学习流程中的一个重要部分。”

在福特展望未来的过程中,Lemmer知道保持创新精神以及直接关注客户非常重要。

“对于现在的福特来说,这真正关乎我们如何为畅游世界的客户打造无缝的体验。这就是我们开展业务的原因。”Lemmer说,“在Pivotal的帮助下,福特已经打造并提供了这种体验,我们近期不会放慢速度。”

Betting Big On Mobility


How Ford Is Transforming Itself into the World’s Most Trusted Mobility Company

Simon Sinek famously said that to understand what drives a company, you need to know why it does what it does. This is even more important than what the company does. Ford Motor Company makes cars and trucks. That’s what it does. But you won’t really understand Ford unless you understand why it makes cars and trucks. It's “why” is to help people get where they need to go as efficiently and enjoyably as possible. At its heart, Ford is a mobility company.

As new technologies emerge that are changing the way people get around, Ford too is transforming itself. It’s still a mobility company that makes cars and trucks, but thanks to the company’s decision to embrace new ways of building software and using digital technology to serve its customers, it is developing innovative new ways to achieve its mission.

“I'm very excited about the possibilities that this whole revolution around mobility technology,” said Jeff Lemmer, COO of IT at Ford. “And I'm really excited about how IT can play a role to really help transform the company. It's not about the IT organization being this back office function, but now being front and center to really help the company be successful and really support our customers going forward.”

I'm really excited about how IT can play a role to really help transform the company. It's not about the IT organization being this back office function, but now being front and center.”
Jeff Lemmer, COO of IT, Ford Motor Company
It Takes Teamwork

One of the emerging technology areas already impacting the auto industry is the Internet of Things (IoT) and Ford is leading the charge. The company is investing heavily in its connected car initiative, with an ambitious goal to have 90% of all vehicles that roll off its assembly lines connected by 2019, including 100% of its US fleet.

As an emerging technology area, new use cases for connected cars are developing all the time. Ford recognized it needed to adopt a new way of building software that allowed it to quickly experiment with new IoT ideas, get them to market fast, and iterate on them based on user feedback.

“The pace of change that we're seeing is unprecedented,” said Lemmer. “The types of solutions that we develop today versus what we developed five or ten years ago are very different, and so we have to go through an internal transformation of teams from both a technology perspective and cultural perspective.”

What this means is the old days of months and sometimes years long software development projects with multiple handoffs between siloed teams are on the way out. In its place, Lemmer is reorganizing the IT department into small, autonomous teams of developers and engineers, each focused on and responsible for specific software products, from development and testing to production and operations.

These teams adopt a very customer centric mindset, developing software in small, iterative batches based on constant user and customer feedback.






FordPass and Pivotal Cloud Foundry

One of the first software products to emerge from the new approach is FordPass. The mobile application lets users interact with their connected vehicle and perform tasks such as viewing diagnostic data and remotely locking/unlocking and starting the vehicle. Users, who don’t need to even necessarily own a Ford vehicle, can also reserve parking spaces and find and compare gas prices in the area.

In the past, it would have taken Ford developers months to get an application like FordPass to market, if it even attempted such a feat at all. With its new approach to software development and the help of Pivotal Labs, Ford brought FordPass to market in record time for the company and developers are constantly testing new ideas and eliciting user feedback. Pivotal Labs works side-by-side with Ford developers, helping them learn agile tenets and other important processes like continuous integration/continuous delivery.

“Over time Pivotal enabled Ford IT to ultimately learn these skills and continue to add more features, more capability, continue to improve the cycle of how we release FordPass to our customers,” said Aaron Rajda, IT Director at Ford. “The FordPass team now is on a regular cadence of releasing regular updates. Pretty much every month there are updates coming in, versus only once or twice a year in the past. This idea of delivering value frequently, we're seeing that. We're seeing regular releases now, the team is doing great job of releasing software.”









The partnership has been so successful that Ford has modeled its development teams and supporting environment on the Pivotal Labs approach. They even call the team FordLabs. “We set out for Ford IT to adopt the Pivotal Labs approach to practices, teams, skills, and methods of modern software development. We are now in position to build on the successful partnership and continue to build great software for our customers,” Rajda said.

Supporting this agile approach is Pivotal Cloud Foundry. The cloud-native platform is designed to enhance developer productivity by abstracting away the underlying complexity of the infrastructure and by automating development and release pipelines. This allows developers to focus on what they do best - writing great software - and gives them the autonomy to push new releases to production in a self-service way.

Another key benefit of Pivotal Cloud Foundry is cloud portability. The platform runs on all the major public cloud providers as well as on VMware, meaning operations teams can move it and associated applications between environments with little to no code changes. This flexibility allows enterprises to take advantage of the different strong suits of the various cloud providers and reduces the risk of cloud lock-in.

“Over the last couple of years we have moved more and more of our applications to the cloud,” Lemmer said. “Pivotal and the whole Pivotal stack has really been key in helping us run applications both on-premises and off-premises and be able to move seamlessly across different environments.”

We need to create this learning culture and see that grow organically and continue to thrive across the company and we'll set the example for it. And Pivotal is an important part of our learning process.”
Aaron Rajda, IT Director, Ford Motor Company

Driving into the Future

With success, of course, comes challenges. Adopting a new way of building software requires developers and operators to question some long held assumptions, which is never easy in any discipline. Having Pivotal on-hand to guide the team, Lemmer said, was critical.

“One of the challenges that the team had was falling back to traditional development practices,” Lemmer said. “The Pivotal team really helped us develop a mindset of continuous development. It was okay to potentially deploy software that had some issues, for example, because you were actually able to rapidly resolve them and iterate your way through changes. Once the team really understood the power of Pivotal’s approach, they were off to the races.”

Added Rajda: “The way we build software now is very different than what we've ever done before. Today, we experiment our way through software development with rapid build-measure-learn cycles, which is a hallmark of how Pivotal Labs works.”

Ford is in the process of expanding this approach to development to more teams throughout the company, Rajda said. Pivotal Labs plays a critical role.






“We've been doing lunch and learns across Ford for years. But the first one I saw where Pivotal was up there talking about a topic with our Ford Labs team, it was a deep learning topic,” Rajda said. “It wasn't just a bunch of PowerPoint slides that teams were looking at. It was an engaged learning session with great dialogue, great questions and it was a great teaching experience.

“We need to create this learning culture and see that grow organically and continue to thrive across the company and we'll set the example for it. And Pivotal is an important part of our learning process.

As Ford looks to the future, Lemmer knows maintaining a spirit of innovation and keeping the focus squarely on the customer is paramount.

“For Ford today, it's really all about how do we create a seamless experience for our customers in terms of how they move through the world. That’s why we do what we do,” Lemmer said. “With the help of Pivotal, Ford is already creating and delivering that experience and we’re not slowing down anytime soon.”